How Many Addicts

Alcoholics
Opioid Users
Sex
Gambling
Food
Smoking
Pills
Marijuana- I know I know you can’t be addicted, they say
Stealing
Video Games
Working
Spending Money
Cutting

Why is this?
Why am I an addict and you’re not?
Why, when I do things, must it be in excess?
With all the things that can be an addiction, everyone knows at least just one. What makes you different?
Or, maybe it’s you! You’re the addict.
What’s your addiction?

I’m on a mission to drop my addiction. Maybe you can follow me on my journey. Send good thoughts and say many prayers. Maybe I’ll never write here again.
When I do get clean, I want to find the girl that was me in the early stages and help her. Tell her what it’s like if it continues. Show her pictures of my mom 10 years ago, 5 years later and now. Show her pictures of how beautiful my mom was. Compared to the very old, shaking, missing a few teeth person she is now. I’m in a unique position. I grew up as a child of an addict. Of course I didn’t know it till down the road. Then I stumbled into my mom’s lifestyle. Boy was she glad to have a partner! And I was glad to bond with my mom. Looking back on our twisted relationship, I’m grateful I went through it. I’ve learned I don’t want to be her. I want to be a good mom, I’m real close to being what I want!

There are so many addictions, we are all looking to cover feelings. But then, we all wish to feel normal. We are selfish. We are smart and we are creative! I know this, without a doubt. Sit with an addict while they figure out how they will get their next score, it’s amazing the stuff we can come up with.

Anyway, I’ve done rehab, twice. I was able to quit alcohol. Now, subs, those are my crutch. Much controversy surrounds this medicine.

Why am I an addict and you’re not?
Why, when I do things, must it be in excess?
With all the things that can be an addiction, everyone knows at least just one. What makes you different?
Or, maybe it’s you! You’re the addict.
What’s your addiction?

**Truly waiting to see, I’m sure I’m not alone**

Leave a Reply

